Skip to content
Press Release


Washington, DC — Today, Speaker Johnson announced a bipartisan Congressional Delegation led by Democratic Leader Hakeem Jeffries and Majority Leader Steve Scalise traveling to Normandy, France to commemorate the 80th anniversary of the D-Day invasion. On Thursday, June 6, the delegation will take part in observances of the anniversary along with veterans and their families, active duty servicemembers, government and military officials and foreign dignitaries.  

“Eighty years ago, these brave servicemembers went directly into conflict because they knew that the future of civilization was at stake,” said Democratic Leader Hakeem Jeffries. “We remember the remarkable courage under fire of our veterans and know that America is free only because of their extraordinary bravery. It is an honor to co-lead this delegation on behalf of the U.S House of Representatives as we reaffirm America’s commitment to stand with our allies and ensure that freedom and democracy will always prevail.”

“As we travel to France for the 80th anniversary of D-Day, we honor and thank the brave heroes who stormed the beaches of Normandy in the greatest seaborne invasion in history to liberate Europe from the grasp of Nazi Germany,” said Majority Leader Steve Scalise. “We must never forget the sacrifices of the ‘greatest generation’ who paid the ultimate cost for our freedom and the freedom of our allies by standing against evil during World War II. I am honored to co-lead this Congressional Delegation to express our respect and gratitude to our veterans, and send the message that the United States will always defend freedom and fight evil.”

The Members of the Congressional Delegation are:

  • The Honorable Steve Scalise, House Majority Leader
  • The Honorable Hakeem Jeffries, House Democratic Leader
  • The Honorable Tom Emmer, House Majority Whip
  • The Honorable Michael McCaul, Chairman, House Committee on Foreign Affairs
  • The Honorable Mike Bost, Chairman, House Committee on Veterans’ Affairs
  • The Honorable Nancy Pelosi, Speaker Emerita
  • The Honorable Gregory Meeks, Ranking Member, House Committee on Foreign Affairs
  • The Honorable Mark Takano, Ranking Member, House Committee on Veterans’ Affairs
  • The Honorable Brendan Boyle, Ranking Member, House Committee on the Budget
  • The Honorable Barbara Lee
  • The Honorable Betty McCollum
  • The Honorable Joe Wilson
  • The Honorable Steve Cohen
  • The Honorable Adrian Smith
  • The Honorable Robert Latta
  • The Honorable Robert Wittman
  • The Honorable Gregorio Kilili Camacho Sablan
  • The Honorable Bill Huizenga
  • The Honorable Mike Kelly
  • The Honorable Terri Sewell
  • The Honorable Marc Veasey
  • The Honorable Brad Wenstrup
  • The Honorable Donald Norcross
  • The Honorable Brian Babin
  • The Honorable Seth Moulton
  • The Honorable Stacey Plaskett
  • The Honorable Norma Torres
  • The Honorable Don Bacon
  • The Honorable Neal Dunn
  • The Honorable Brian Fitzpatrick
  • The Honorable David Kustoff
  • The Honorable Susan Wild
  • The Honorable Tom Suozzi
  • The Honorable Jason Crow
  • The Honorable Madeleine Dean
  • The Honorable John Joyce
  • The Honorable Greg Pence
  • The Honorable Dean Phillips
  • The Honorable Guy Reschenthaler
  • The Honorable Lori Trahan
  • The Honorable Scott Fitzgerald
  • The Honorable C. Scott Franklin
  • The Honorable Carlos Gimenez
  • The Honorable Jake LaTurner
  • The Honorable Kathy Manning
  • The Honorable Marilyn Strickland
  • The Honorable Morgan McGarvey
  • The Honorable Jill Tokuda