Skip to content

Bahamas Weekly: CARICOM ambassadors participate in roundtable with CBC members

Caricom Meeting 3.13.14WASHINGTON, D.C. — His Excellency Dr. Eugene Newry, Bahamas Ambassador to the United States, along with other Ambassadors or their representatives from CARICOM-member countries participated in a roundtable discussion with three members of the Congressional Black Caucus (CBC) on Thursday, March 13, in a committee room at the Longworth House Office Building on Capitol Hill.

Ambassador Newry was accompanied by  Mr. Chet Neymour, Deputy Chief of Mission, and Mr. Mikhail Bullard, Third Secretary/Vice Consul.

Discussion centered around various pieces of legislation currently before Congress that are of specific interest to the Caribbean, including an Act to Provide for Comprehensive Immigration Reform.

CBC members who participated in the “roundtable” included Congresswoman Yvette Clarke, who represents New York’s Ninth Congressional District; Congressman Steven Horsford, Nevada’s Fourth District; and Congressman Hakeem Jeffries, New York’s Eighth District.

Congresswoman Frederica S. Wilson, who represents Florida’s 24th Congressional District and is of Bahamian descent, also participated briefly in the discussion. Florida’s 24th Congressional District consists of portions of Broward and Miami-Dade Counties.

Congresswoman Clarke Congressserves on three House committees: Homeland Security Committee, Small Business Committee, and the Ethics Committee; Congressman Horsford serves on the House Natural Resources Committee, Homeland Security Committee, and Committee on Oversight and Government Reform; and Congressman Jeffries is a member of the Judiciary Committee and the Budget Committee.

The roundtable was chaired by Her Excellency Deborah Mae Lovell, Ambassador of Antigua and Barbuda to the United States.

Later that day, the CARICOM Ambassadors also met with a representative of Congresswoman Maxine Waters, Representative of California’s 43rd Congressional District, to discuss matters relative to financial services legislation. Congresswoman Waters is the ranking member of  the Financial Services Committee.